Making your own vinegar

I thought a post with a little less violence to it was in order…

Another great post by zero waste chef on how to make your own vinegar.   I love the resourcefulness.

I did make my ginger bug, but I used brown sugar because it was all I had on hand, and it really just fizzled a little bit.  You could say it fizzled out. Haha.

I made the ginger drink with 5 pieces of ginger cut to 1/8th inch size and simmered it for 20 minutes. I added 1/2 cup of ginger bug.  Wow, it was sooo good I drank it all.  It has that sweet and spicy tang to it that is irresistible.

11923258_862688277140216_7543193980499102292_n

Fermentation versus canning.

Leave a Reply

