The history behind Standing Rock

You know, I barely know my own family’s history.  We just didn’t talk about it.  It was as if we just *poof* started our story with our parents…but here we have Native Americans who know their family’s history.

Reading this story, as I read the first couple of paragraphs, tears came to my eyes…ashamed of the massacre of innocent people who were different.
And the greedy ones used them being different to drum up hatred of them so they could massacre them without too many people condemning them for it. But I guess the real reasons the Cabal wanted to kill the Indians was because they stood in the way of gold…trees…oil…uranium…you name whatever riches the earth has, the Native folk have fought against taking it out. I mean, you can see that every place that the Native folk ended up…oil or some other resource was discovered…and suddenly the Natives were a “threat” and had to be moved. I am ashamed to say that I once owned Black Hills gold…before I read about what happened and how the Hills were captured under bloodshed.
Perhaps lumber is the only one that is renewable resource, but that was taken without consideration of all the life that trees support: oxygen for all living things on earth; shelter for the winged ones; food for both the winged ones, four leggeds, and humans; and shade from the sun. It was only recently that lumber companies were held accountable for that. I look up at the beautiful Spearfish Canyon and the mountaintop looks like someone with patches of hair missing.  There are significant patches of bare land where trees were cut down.
I was in Wyoming and listening to the radio as I drove along the beautiful prairie state, and the announcer came on and warned that it was not a good day to go out if you have breathing difficulties. I’m wondering why because there is no smog here. I walked around a National park there and realized that I was affected by low oxygen after I returned home. Wow. It hit me how serious the situation is — the lack of trees producing oxygen can cause the same difficulty as chemical pollution. They have cut down so many trees that the oxygen supply is seriously low. Wow. Just wow.

Back to Ladonna’s story –

I read her passion of the Cannonball river and her relatives and her own history with the place, I know what she is talking about–

There was a place in Indiana, a Presbyterian camp called Geneva that is a sacred place (the picture at the top of the blog is a campfire at Geneva that I roasted marshmallows and hotdogs at as a child). I tried to tell a few of the Presbyterian church members that they needed to keep it the way it is, but alas, they have decided to make it a money-making venue. It’s like charging for God’s gift.

I don’t believe it is the only place in Indiana, or the United States, either. If you destroy the environment, they destroy the special places that God has given us for life and for connecting.

You know, when I was at the Spearfish Canyon public meeting on the land grab, many of the folks who spoke against the land grab mentioned that they had been here for generations — some as many as five generations. They looove this place. I thought of the Native folks, who said the exact same thing when defending their land from the Europeans.  I wonder if the folks whom have been here for generations understand and empathize with the Natives, who truly loved this land and its connection to their families?

 

Leave a Reply

