Behind the scenes…

I thought I’d add a little behind-the-scenes post —

I have met some wonderful people here with such good hearts and commitment!

I don’t want to name names, but an older lady who puts me to shame with her activism.  She said that she had blocked liquor trucks from making a delivery to a Nebraska town that has nothing but liquor stores…it is right across from Pine Ridge and they are doing their best to finish the job with genocide-by-bottle.

She said she and young mothers with babies in strollers stood in the roadway when they saw a booze delivery truck coming down the road.  The truck driver saw the human blockade and did a U-turn.  She said she knew that the truck would be back yet another day, but for that day, it was a victory.

~~~~~~~~~~

I can’t tell you how thrilling it was to see tipis planted all over the landscape as one comes over the hill.  They try to say the culture is dead…but evidence proves otherwise.  Folks are staying in their tipis as their ancestors did.  No running water.  Outhouses.  (Although I think they did not have outhouses, but just went where it was customary for the village).

Some have horses and use them for transportation.  It is another thrill to see them galloping at full speed through camp.  It makes me want a pony all over again (I begged for a horse as a kid).

~~~~~~~~~~

I have a downer, though, of the youth.  I have felt this for awhile, but especially see how much we Boomers dropped the ball.  The youth have even less of a clue about the environment than my generation did.

I told one that we used to bring our own table service (plates, forks, knives, cups, napkins) to get-togethers.  And then we took them home and washed them ourselves.  He was stunned by this.  Oy.  We really dropped the ball on that one — there is no need to ever use freaking styrofoam when we can just wash our own dishes after using them.  It is really sad that we have lost so much progress and awareness of what we are doing to the environment.

~~~~~~~~~~~~

So my tent is a thin shield from the elements.  This is a good thing and this is a bad thing. The good thing is that I feel close to Mother Earth and there is comfort in that.  The bad thing is that it’s only Fall and I am freezing at night with a warm camping bag, two blankets, and a very warm comforter.  And I am having hot flashes like nobody’s business where I am pulling covers off of me, drenched in sweat, and then get chilled to the bone when the hot flash is over and the sweat turns cold.  Oy.  Who says God doesn’t have a sense of humor?

The first night in the tent was very uneasy.  You realize that there is little protection between you and nature.  There are coyotes yapping in the middle of the night.  The cows moo every so often.  I realize that I am just a city girl who had a little bit of outdoors training in Girl Scouts…but it was woefully inadequate and many moons ago.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

A portrait of Sitting Bull is across the room and he is looking directly at me.  I think I see a tiny bit of a smile. 🙂

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

