Another piece to the puzzle: glutamates in food **edited again

Doing more research for the connection between what we ingest (toxins and food) and how bad we feel, I’ve discovered some interesting links with MTHFR gene and the inability to detox. I’ve blogged on MSG (monosodium glutamate) in the past, but my thinking was that it was an artificial ingredient, not something that occurred naturally in food and that foods high in glutamate would have the same effect as MSG.  ::does head slap::

First, I’ll start with MTHFR.  I had heard about this defect, but Dr. Cutler was of the mind that if you got the heavy metals out, you would take care of the problem.  He felt that too much focus was placed on MTHFR and methylation defect.  So…although I had heard of it, I didn’t pay much attention.  However, I also believe in people being put in my life for a reason — sometimes the reason is quite obvious as this, but other times, the reason is subtle or isn’t as evident until later.

That someone recently mentioned MTHFR to me….so I did some exploring, and found that I exhibited characteristics associated with it. And I haven’t been eating as much greens lately — instead eating beans for my B vitamins.  It doesn’t do one a lot of good eating the B’s if your body is missing the enzyme necessary for the body to extract the vitamins out and use them.

Here are some good links on it:

Wellness Mama

Loving Our Guts

Good Foods for MTHFR

Next, we have foods naturally high in glutamates.  The glutamates act as excitotoxins in the brain, and that in turn causes inflammation.  Inflammation is the body’s way of mounting a defense…but when the body is consistently bombarded, the inflammation response does not give your body a rest, and then cells begin to die.   This is why it is important to take it seriously.  Allergies, too, cause inflammation and should be taken as a potentially serious condition, not dismissed as most calcified medical professionals will do.

Here are some good websites on glutamates:

Peeling back the onion layers  Note the two links at the bottom of the page for Dr. Blaylock and Dr. Yasko.  An issue I have with Dr. Yasko is the part about males having higher glutamates than females.  Knowing the biases of the medical profession and particularly, medical instructors/schools, and that women have not been historically part of research, I take what she wrote about females not having as much incidence of autism as men with a grain of salt.  I know that the heavy metals severely impacted my speech and being sociable.  I didn’t completely shut down, but I was close.  Women might have better abilities of communication, and therefore, the autistic symptoms may not be as apparent.  This was my case.  I’m willing to bet that this is true for a lot of women impacted by heavy metals who may not completely shut down as males, but are still severely impacted.  Also, autism is just one aspect of this, as seizures and migraines are also indicators of high glutamates.  More women suffer from migraines than men.  Just wanted to put that out there.

Another thing I’ve learned this morning while reading is that fasting can cause a rise in glutamates.  *sigh*  It’s a benefit for the gut, to allow it to rest, but apparently not good for those susceptible to high glutamates.  Another piece to the puzzle…

Dr. J — Foods to Avoid, Foods to Enjoy — high glutamate foods

 

Self Nutrition Data List of foods high in glutamine.

**Edited to add:

Another good link here to Dr. Yasko’s list of excitotoxins and foods that damage the nerves.

**Edited again:

Reading Dr. J’s page on letters from grateful readers, he is also gearing the low glutamate diet towards animals.  I read of pets that were suffering from epileptic seizures and I think about my doggie, Cooper, who suffered from seizures (circa 1990), and one night went into a seizure and never came out of it.  His body burned up from inflammation…just another warning on how serious this is and how little the FDA truly cares about our health by allowing MSG and aspartame in foods.

Be well, my friends.

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Another piece to the puzzle: glutamates in food **edited again

  1. Pingback: Fasting and Health **edited | Dolphin

  2. Pingback: Life in the Fast Lane… **edited again | Dolphin

Leave a Reply

