Progress…

(I need to preface this with the standard:  I am not a medical professional.  Please do your own research to make your own decisions about your healthcare.  And run from American medicine as fast as you can.)

 

So I’m reading Jenny McCarthy’s book Louder Than Words on her son having autism, and I see some behaviors that I had, albeit on a milder scale.  The progress I have made is nothing short of a miracle.

I realize I was truly at the point of “closing of the window” that McCarthy talks about– there is a window where one can help their child progress through autism. Or in my case, after years and years of being poisoned by the mercury -filled dental amalgams— I think if I had gone even one more year of being poisoned, I would not be typing this, but probably institutionalized or dead.

As my health deteriorated from the unknown mercury poisoning, neurological function deteriorated right along with it.

Long time readers might recall my posts on it — I had been sewing for years and had sewn many of my kids’ clothing; I also had played the piano and a favorite was Classical Gas by Mason Williams.  I could go for six months not playing the piano at all, and then sit down and play it when visiting my mother.

I also exhibited autistic symptoms — not wanting to interact with people and just wanting to stay in my house 24/7.  I avoided eye contact and would look anywhere but someone’s eyes.   And my eyes were cloudy and would involuntarily move sideways.  My eyesight went from perfect 20/20 and 20/15 vision to needing glasses even to read large print. Driving at night never bothered me, but now I had terrible night vision and oncoming headlights would blind me.

And of course, the horrid migraines began one year after amalgam placement–however, this was also the same time that I had the MMR booster.

Communication became difficult with memory issues so bad that I would forget something someone told me two seconds after they said it (literally). The low point was when I forgot my own children’s names!  This point in time, my hands began shaking like a person with Parkinson’s.  I actually thought I had Parkinsons because of it.

Word salad–where I would say one word, but not the word in my brain.  This caused me to close down and not want to talk to people for fear of saying the wrong thing.  I had always had A’s in spelling, but struggled to spell familiar words.

 

 

While I was reading of McCarthy’s son making little steps of progress after she finally, finally got a valid medical observation and diagnosis (don’t get me started on clueless doctors), a thought struck me that I have made such progress.

In 1985 or so, before I had the awful amalgams put in my mouth, I had taken a test by Mensa (organization for genius people).  I took the preliminary test online and they encouraged me to take the written test.  I did, and scored within the 90th percentile.  It was shocking to me because I had always had a “B” average in school.  Something wasn’t jiving with how I did in school with the Mensa test.  **More on that below…

So flash forward to about three years ago or so, and I had on a lark gone back to the Mensa site and took the preliminary test like I had done before.  I got the “don’t call us, we’ll call you” from them.  My heart sank.  I had actually lost IQ points…confirming the reasons that I could no longer play the piano nor sew like I once had.

Friday, however, I had a glimmer of recovery.  I had tested my math, language comprehension, and reasoning skills.  I scored above average — in the top 30% of those tested.  It leaped out at me that perhaps, just perhaps, that window had not closed.  I was afraid that it had because it has taken me so long to recover.

And I haven’t recovered my music abilities.  And the sewing abilities will have to be re-learned all over again, I’m afraid.  It’s a skill of eye-hand coordination, mental comprehension, and creative imagination that needs practice in order to have a good skill.

The right (creative) side  of the brain has taken a  direct hit.  And I’m also not ruling out that I was required to take an MMR booster when I began my college career, even though I had already had measles, mumps, and rubella as a child.  Giving a vaccine to someone whom has already had the disease causes serious issues — such as rheumatoid arthritis and gut issues (autoimmune disorders).  And reading about McCarthy’s son, I am more inclined to believe it was the stupid vaccine that contributed to my health decline.  I mean, I can just see myself beginning my college career– healthy and happy, and then the slow weight gain even though I was still jogging and eating sensibly at that time.  It was the first warning sign of the beginning of the decline.

I don’t agree with everything that McCarthy talks about in the book –she follows DAN! doctors, but I follow Dr. Andrew Hall-Cutler’s protocol for chelation therapy to remove heavy metals.   In addition to removing mercury, it also helps remove lead, cadmium, etc.  We have all been exposed to lead through coal dust, engine exhaust, lead paint, contaminated water, etc., and I think it is now showing up with our kids.  Heavy metals alter the DNA, and with each passing generation, it becomes very evident of the DNA destruction going on.  I think it is imperative for most of the population to detox heavy metals.  Only a few people have the genes that naturally detox heavy metals.  As I put in a previous post, I learned that my family does indeed have the APOE gene that does not detox heavy metals.

Dr. Cutler does not believe in IV chelation because he watched as someone he knew was institutionalized after having IV chelation.  Her body could not deal with so much detoxing at once….which is why Cutler’s protocol is based on 72-hour “rounds” based on 3 hour intervals (or for some of us, 2 hour intervals).  It is the safest way that I know to get this horrible poison out of one’s system.

 

 

**A side story is that my daughter had struggled with reading in 1st Grade.  Her teacher was ready to dismiss her as stupid.  I knew that she was not stupid, but was stumped at why she had difficulty reading.  I got a book on dyslexia from the public library, and as I read about it, I saw my daughter.  She had difficulty recognizing the words “a, an, the” because they did not represent any particular thing.  I would sit reading to her, and point to “the”, and then turn the page and immediately point to “the”.  She could not recognize it although she had just seen it.  She could recognize the word “book” or “ball” because they were things she could picture in her mind.  This is classic dyslexia.

And as I read about dyslexia, I realized that I was also dyslexic.  That was the reason that I tested high on the Mensa test, but did not have A’s in school.  I did not test well.  I felt that familiar anxiety when taking the tests now.  And missed the highest scoring category by two points.  Two lousy points.  Story of my life.  Just for the record, dyslexics are not stupid, but rather, they are usually highly intelligent.  This is one of the reasons that the draconian education “reform” irritates me so much — they dismiss a kid based on some stupid test score when the child may be undiagnosed dyslexic, and not showing what they know on paper.  My daughter and I would have both been labeled as stupid if we were in today’s edumacation system.

 

Leave a Reply

