Living in the Space Between Cultures

Voices from the Margins

Carol A. Hand

During my hiatus from publishing the things I write every day, I decided to repost something I wrote for a friend’s blog, Deconstructing Myths, more than two years ago. Although Jeff Nguyen Eckert took a hiatus from blogging a while ago, I remain grateful for his help when I first began. His powerful insights and poetry still offer me inspiration.

***

My first memory as a child is so clear in my mind even though experts in brain development say it is not possible. It was my first Christmas. A February baby born on the cusp of Pisces and Aquarius, I lay in my crib as the winter sun streamed through the window. My mother and father stood on opposite sides of my crib, arguing. The personal pain and insecurities that led to their argument were so clear to me. But more compelling were the strengths…

View original post 1,897 more words

One thought on “Living in the Space Between Cultures

Leave a Reply

