Media and Responsibility

See my comment on the blog for my thoughts on this important post —

Voices from the Margins

Carol A. Hand

I’m grateful to everyone who shared their perspectives on my last post. I’m also grateful to the author on Race Reflections who inspired me to revisit a question – “Whose truths matters to media?”

Obviously, images and the stories that are told are filtered through the eyes and values of reporters. Some raise awareness and others defend unquestioned privilege and perpetuate the status quo. Those differences affected my life profoundly a long time ago. They changed my understanding of responsibility and forced me to change how I lived my life.

I ask you to watch the following video carefully and try to imagine how you would respond. There are three short news clips, each representing a different view. Which one is true? I suspect they all are true through the eyes of the reporters. Which ones encourage inclusion and respect for others? And which ones inflame…

View original post 181 more words

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Carol A. Hand
    Dec 14, 2015 @ 13:19:25

    Thank you for your thoughtful comments, Dolphin, and for sharing this post 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

