What’s not on the vitamin label…

…is that some vitamins contain Genetically Modified Organisms (GMO).

This has come across my radar.  Most of the vitamins/supplements I take are more expensive, reliable brands.  One can become complacent, however, and after a discussion, I decided to look into the Vitamin C I recently started taking:  Nature Made.

I looked all over their label for some reference as to whether it did or did not have GMO’s.  Nothing.

So I emailed the company and asked specifically if their Vitamin C contained GMO.  This is the email I received back:

We recently received your e-mail regarding Nature Made products.  We appreciate your question concerning your inquiry regarding the use of GMO (Genetically Modified Organism) materials in our products.

Most ingredients used in our products are GMO-free. Some ingredients, such as soybean oil and cornstarch, may be derived from genetically engineered plants. In many cases, these materials undergo extensive purification procedures to help eliminate residual cellular material, proteins and other impurities. In addition, FDA considers genetically modified ingredients currently used in foods to be safe.

We thank you for contacting us and hope that you will continue to use and enjoy Nature Made products with complete confidence.

Sincerely,
Hazel W.
Consumer Affairs Representative
Pharmavite, LLC
HW:200186543-15

~~~~~~~~~~~

So they totally evaded my specific question as to whether their Vitamin C contained GMO.  I have a hunch that it is likely that it does.

No matter, as I’m looking into Liposomal Vitamin C.  It has been touted as getting into the cells easier.  And has been linked to a man’s recovery from leukemia and swine flu.

I asked Mercola, the manufacturer of the liposomal vitamin C whether it had GMOs and the company spokesperson said that it did not.

Just thought I’d pass this along…

Leave a Reply

